Trust me, cloning yourself will NOT make you more productive (pt 2)

This story is one of technological advancements far beyond the capabilities I once thought possible. It involves computer science experiments gone terribly wrong. This is part two in a series. You can read part one here but fear not. You can enjoy my failures, and triumphant success, by joining us here and now.

We have established the job hunt is a difficult one to bear for most. Many within my generation feel the pangs of a nontraditional application process in a fairly traditional career progression. If that observation has your head spinning, let me explain.

Hiring processes generally consist of a resume, cover letter, and possibly recommendations or a portfolio of your work. You submit your documents to a hiring manager who combs through your application to determine if you will fit their needs. If so, you are called into an interview, possibly a subsequent interview with the supervisor of your potential department, and you then determine if you both felt the flutter of a blissful employment match.

With the addition of the wonderful world of online applications, hiring entities are inundate with more submissions than anyone could possible comb through. The piles of submissions include applicants with internship experience with federal agencies, national volunteer experience, community leadership roles, and awards (you can find out more about this awesome applicant here).

Critics say online job applications encourage job seekers to submit numerous applications because the process is too simple. The same critics say many job seekers submit excessive applications without thoroughly reading the job announcement, thereby flooding hiring offices with irrelevant applicants.

I venture to say job descriptions are loosing their legitimacy, making the process impractical and unproductive for both sides.

Job announcements ask for “go-getters” who can work in a “fast-paced environment.” For the job seeker, “go-getter” and “fast-paced” are about as cliche as the applicant’s use of “hard-working” and “detail-oriented.”

These are merely buzz words that all of us would use to describe ourselves.

Companies want applicants who can go far beyond the job description but point to the “it factor” when looking for this mystery person. I dare say, companies need applicants who can do more than a singular job descriptions. Nearly every single career field requires some form of technology usage and at least a basic understanding of database systems. Hiring processes haven’t caught up with demand for human capital and often water down the job description.

On the other hand, my generation is expected to provide better service, stay better connected, continue to advance their technology skills, and continue to evolve at the speed of technology advancements. All the while, we continue to be labeled too dependent on technology. It’s all a catch-22.

My virtual internship serves as my creative approach to overcoming this hiring hurdle by spending my free time learning new, marketable skills.

This week in part two of my self-designed internship, I tackled a new editing technique in iMovie. After many failed filming attempts, I worried I would not make my Wednesday deadline.

blurredAfter fifteen minutes of filming, I realized this shot was way too blurry.

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 8.59.49 PM

 

My second attempt produced a much better frame and lighting, especially considering the low quality equipment.

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 9.06.31 PMMy third attempt seemed to work until I tried to split them together to create the illusion of a conversation between two intern characters.

I learned a lot about camera placement, lighting, and working fast if you have a window in the frame (day light changes). After a last ditch attempt to film some new scenes and 8 hours spent editing, the result finally came together in a rather believable split.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 4.38.49 PMWhile you can still see a color variation on the black table, I think the shadow of the plant really sells the image. The editing of the conversation proved extremely difficult, but I am proud of this first attempt at a self-designed project.

Times of unemployment can be used productively. Not only am I learning new film making skills, I am also working on building a network of creators and learning from their content and suggestions.

I am also developing and executing social media marketing plans to build an audience, a marketable skill I also hope to use in the future.

The goal of this self assigned project is to broaden my skills, experience, and stay connected with the changing market. Its uncertain if my project will produce anything more than a bunch of videos posted online, but I don’t believe in passive job hunting. While I continue to look for the perfect career with an amazing organization, I will continue to improve my value in hopes it will pay off in the end.

Please feel free to check out my tongue-in-cheek video on the pains of the application process.

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel for new videos on Wednesdays and Fridays.

Comment or leave a reply

